# **British Parachute Association**

5 Wharf Way Tel: 0116 278 5271 Glen Parva Fax: 0116 247 7662

Leicester e-mail: skydive@bpa.org.uk

LE2 9TF www.bpa.org.uk



# The Council

Minutes of the inaugural meeting of the year 2001 Council held on Saturday 19 January 2002 at 1145

at the Hanover International Hotel, Hinckley, Leicestershire

Present: Chris Allen

Paul Appplegate Kieran Brady Barrie Buck David Hickling Andy Houston Eddie Jones Ian Marshall Ian Midgley Craig Poxon John Smyth Jim White

In attendance: Tony Butler - Technical Officer

Debbie Carter

John Hitchen - NCSO

Trudy Kemp Assistant to TO/NCSO
Martin Shuttleworth - National Administrator
Lucie Wood Development Officer
Sue Waterfield Administration Secretary

Observers: 9

# Item Minute

#### 01/02 Election of Officers, etc

Tony Butler took the Chair pending the election of a Chairman. Once elected, the Chairman took over for the rest of the meeting.

Elections took place as recorded in the table on page 3.

# 1.1 Vice Chairmanship

Two candidates, Kieran Brady and John Smyth, were nominated for the office of Vice Chairman of the BPA. There followed a discussion about whether a post of 'second Vice Chairman' should be inaugurated, and if so the procedure that should be followed to do this. However, both candidates stated that they would be prefer there to be an election for a single post of Vice Chairman, as had always been custom and practice to date. The Chairman therefore invited each of the nominees to make a statement to the meeting before a secret ballot was held.

John Smyth said he was standing as Vice Chairman because he believed that with his competitions perspective, and no business interest in the sport, he was in the best position to counterbalance those with business interests, and to continue to work well with the Chairman.

Kieran Brady said he had been involved with the sport as a volunteer for the last 17 years. He was active as a pilot and pilot examiner, and assisted the TO/NCSO with some DZ inspection visits. For these activities, his credibility with outside authorities such as the CAA would be enhanced by holding the office of Vice Chairman of the BPA.

The secret ballot then took place. After the secret ballot, Kieran Brady congratulated John Smyth on his election as Vice Chairman of the BPA.

#### 1.2 Club Representatives

Kieran Brady was appointed as 'Club Representatives Co-ordinator' to co-ordinate written reports to the Council on visits by Club Reps.

#### 02/02 Council meetings 2002

The following dates were agreed for Council meetings in 2002:

Tuesdays at 1830 at the BPA Office, Leicester: 19 February

23 April 18 June 20 August 22 October

10 December (EGM & Council)

#### 03/02 Regional Representatives

lan Midgley proposed, and Paul Applegate seconded, a motion that the following (who had all signified their willingness to stand) be elected as BPA Representatives to the Sport England Regional bodies for 2002.

Michael Allum East

David Hickling East Midlands
John Smyth Greater London

Tim Andrewes
Stuart Morris
North West
Doug Peacock
Ian Marshall
John Fisher
Mick Matthews
Lofty Thomas
North
South
South West
South West
West Midlands
Yorkshire

Carried unanimously

.../ continued

# Elections of Officers, etc, for 2002

Position	Nominee/s	Proposer	Seconder	Outcome
Chairman	Chris Allen	Kieran Brady	lan Midgley	Elected unanimously
				Secret ballot:
Vice Chairman	Kieran Brady	Ian Midgley	Eddie Jones	For: 4 - not elected
	John Smyth	Paul Applegate	Jim White	For: 7 - elected
Treasurer	Debbie Carter	John Smyth	lan Midgley	Elected unanimously
Chairman STC	John Hitchen	lan Midgley	David Hickling	Elected unanimously
Chairman Development Committee	lan Midgley	Kieran Brady	Barrie Buck	Elected unanimously
Chairman Competitions Committee	John Smyth	Ian Marshall	Kieran Brady	Elected unanimously
Chairman Communications Committee	Kieran Brady	lan Midgley	lan Marshall	Elected unanimously
Delegate to RAeC	John Smyth	Paul Applegatel	lan Marshall	Elected unanimously
Alternate Delegate to RAeC	lan Marshall	John Smyth	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Club	Kieran Brady	John Smyth	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Representatives (Northern) (2 Reps)	Jim White	Barrie Buck	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Club Representative (Central)	lan Midgley	Kieran Brady	Eddie Jones	Elected unanimously
Club Representative (Southern)	Craig Poxon	John Smyth	Paul Applegate	Elected unanimously
Liaison Officer to CAA	Tony Knight	Ian Marshall	Barrie Buck	Elected unanimously
To co-opt Treasurer (if not Council member)	Debbie Carter	John Smyth	Ian Marshall	Carried unanimously
To co-opt Chairman, STC (if not Council member)	John Hitchen	Ian Marshall	Paul Applegate	Carried unanimously
To co-opt affiliated / associated bodies	APA RAFSPA	Craig Poxon Paul Applegate	Jim White Barrie Buck	Carried unanimously Carried unanimously
	SSPA BCPA	Jim White Ian Marshall	David Hickling Craig Poxon	Carried unanimously Carried unanimously
	DUFA	ian warshali	Clary FUXUII	Garried unanimously

#### 04/02 Action Plan 2002/3

The Chairman asked all Members of Council to join a Subcommittee by contacting the appropriate Committee Chairman immediately after this meeting.

**Action: All Council Members** 

The first task of all Committees was to draft the one-year Action Plan for their area of responsibility to cover the period 1 July 2002 to 30 June 2003 inclusive. Each Committee Chairman was responsible for collecting ideas and drafting the matrix and accompanying narrative to put forward to the full Council on Tuesday 19 February. The Competitions, Communications and Development Committees planned to have short informal meetings following on from this Council meeting to discuss ideas.

Action: All Council Members/ Committee Chairmen

### 05/02 Date of next meeting

Tuesday 19 February 2002 at 1830 at the BPA Office, Glen Parva, Leicester (following meetings of the Communications and Development Committees during the afternoon).

The meeting closed at 1235

Issued: 7 February 2002

Distribution: Council, Vice Presidents, Treasurer, Staff and Editor